Forums » Composers

Finale/FL Studio vs. MOTU Digital Performer

• January 14, 2009 1:25 PM PST

Ok, I have Finale 2008. I've been writing with it for a few months, and it seems pretty decent. I like the Garritan sounds that it comes with, and it does a decent job of emulating styles with the human playback. My question is: how much better, and why, is DP than Finale?

I've been considering making a move to DP for a while, but it's so expensive and I'm not sure if it's really worth the change for that price or not.

For anyone that's familiar with FL Studio (which is also a great program), I'm really looking for something that combines that with Finale. I see that DP has sample libraries similar to Finale's Garritan, and it has some synthesizer plugins as well. Is the score-writing better than Finale? The info on the website (and just about everywhere else that I've seen) is sketchy at best at showing pictures and discussing the process of writing score/manuscript and printing, etc.

Anyway, that's a lot to read I guess, but if anyone that knows can clarify this for me or give me some great insight, that'd be awesome!

Mike

• April 5, 2009 11:59 AM PDT